12,000 BTU (SACC) dual-hose portable air conditioner with heat
Airo comfort AC16MWS
Below average efficiency for its size: a CEER of 8.4 beats 1% of the certified 12,000 BTU or more portable air conditioners.
The Airo comfort AC16MWS delivers 12,000 BTU of real cooling (SACC), enough for about 450-550 sq ft, draws about 1429 watts and costs about $193 a year to run at typical U.S. use and prices. A window unit that cools as much costs about $108 a year.
- CEER
- 8.4 Combined efficiency, higher is betterBelow average · beats 1%
- Real cooling
- 12,000 BTU/h (SACC)For about 450-550 sq ft
- Energy use
- 1,071 kWh/yrAbout 1429 W, at 750 hours a year
- Design
- Two hoses Draws outdoor air for its condenser
A good fit if…
- You want the better cooling design - with two hoses it does not pull warm outdoor air into the room to replace what it exhausts.
- You want one unit for cooling and some heat - it has a heating mode.
- You do not want to empty a bucket - it evaporates the water and sends it out through the hose in normal weather.
Think twice if…
- Running cost matters most - its CEER is below average for 12,000 BTU or more portable air conditioners.
- You have limited space - units this size are the largest and heaviest portable air conditioners.
Calculate my running costCheck the size for my room
Details
Certified ratings
| Performance | |
|---|---|
| Real cooling capacity (SACC)Seasonally adjusted cooling capacity: what the unit delivers in the DOE test, after the heat it lets back in | 12,000 BTU/h |
| CEERCombined energy efficiency ratio, includes standby power | 8.4 |
| Power drawSACC divided by CEER | About 1429 W |
| Yearly energy use750 hours of cooling a year | 1,071 kWh |
| Design | |
| Hose design | Dual-duct (two hoses) |
| Heating | Yes (type not stated in the data) |
| Compressor | Not reported |
| Water removal | Self-evaporating (exhausts the water through the hose) |
| Certification | |
| Certified model numbers | 2 (2 basic models) |
| Brands | 1 |
| Size class | 12,000 BTU and up |
Model numbers with these ratings
These model numbers are certified with the same capacity, efficiency, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor as the Airo comfort AC16MWS.They may be the same unit sold under several brands, or different products that test the same: the DOE data has no dimensions or noise figures, so check those with the maker. Ratings within about 2% in capacity and 0.3 in CEER are treated as the same; a model whose own rating differs a little shows it in brackets.
- Airo comfortAC16MWS, AC16MWS-W
How it compares with the other 12,000 BTU or more portable units
- CEER (class median 12.8)8.4, no ties
- Yearly cost vs. class median ($127)$66 more
- Efficiency rank among 14 rating profiles#14
- Models in the class with two hoses99%
- Window units with similar cooling (median CEER 15.0)$108 a year
Compared with every DOE-certified portable unit in the same size class (SACC). Each model number counts once. Yearly cost at 750 hours and 18.0¢/kWh.
Yearly running cost by city
This unit at each city's cooling hours and state electricity price, against a window unit that cools as much.
| City | Hours | ¢/kWh | Per year | Window unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix, AZ | 1675 | 15.5 | $370 | $207 |
| Houston, TX | 1400 | 16.0 | $320 | $179 |
| Miami, FL | 1750 | 15.4 | $385 | $216 |
| Atlanta, GA | 775 | 15.1 | $167 | $93 |
| New York, NY | 525 | 28.4 | $213 | $119 |
| Chicago, IL | 475 | 19.0 | $129 | $72 |
| Denver, CO | 350 | 16.6 | $83 | $46 |
| Seattle, WA | 125 | 14.2 | $25 | $14 |
Ranked around it in the 12,000 BTU and up class
| # | Model | BTU (SACC) | CEER | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 11 | 12,000 BTU dual-hose inverter portable AC, 11.2 CEER | 12,000 | 11.2 | $145 |
| 12 | Tripp Lite SRCOOL24KE | 16,000 | 9.8 | $221 |
| 13 | Sea Breeze PADH314HPM | 12,000 | 8.9 | $182 |
| 14 | Airo comfort AC16MWS | 12,000 | 8.4 | $193 |
Questions
- What size room does the Airo comfort AC16MWS cool?
- 12,000 BTU of real cooling (SACC) suits about 450 to 550 sq ft with normal sun and two people (about 405-495 sq ft if very sunny), by the ENERGY STAR floor-area table. Size by SACC, not the larger BTU on the box.
- How many watts does the Airo comfort AC16MWS use, and what does it cost to run?
- About 1429 watts at full power (12,000 BTU/h divided by its CEER of 8.4), roughly 12.4 amps if it runs on 115 V. At 750 hours a year and 18.0¢/kWh that is about $193, which is $66 more than the typical certified 12,000 BTU or more portable unit ($127). Its CEER beats 1% of the 147 certified models in its size class.
- Why does the Airo comfort AC16MWS have two hoses?
- One hose brings outdoor air in to cool the condenser, the other sends the heat out, so no cooled room air is wasted. 99% of the certified 12,000 BTU or more models have two hoses, and at 8.4 CEER this one is below their 12.8 median.
- Do I have to empty the Airo comfort AC16MWS?
- Usually not. It evaporates the water it removes and sends it out through the exhaust hose. In very humid weather the pan can still fill, and most units then stop and ask to be drained, so keep a drain hose or a bucket handy.
- How does the Airo comfort AC16MWS heat?
- It has a heating function, but the DOE data records only that it exists, not whether it is a heat pump or an electric element. Ask the maker: a heat pump gives more heat per kWh than a resistance element, which costs the same as any space heater. 33 of the 147 certified 12,000 BTU or more models can heat.
- Is the Airo comfort AC16MWS as efficient as a window air conditioner?
- No. The 40 ENERGY STAR certified window units that cool about as much (within 15% of 12,000 BTU) have a median CEER of 15.0, against 8.4 here, and the best reach 16.8. At 750 hours a year a window unit with that median would cost about $108, $85 less than this one. ENERGY STAR window units are the more efficient part of the window market, so the gap to an average window unit is smaller. A portable unit makes sense when a window unit will not fit or is not allowed.
- Which model numbers have the same ratings as the Airo comfort AC16MWS?
- 2 certified model numbers from 1 brand share these ratings: capacity, CEER, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor. They may be the same unit under different brands, or different products that test the same; the DOE data does not include dimensions or noise, so check those with the maker. The full list is on this page.
Running cost calculator
Pre-filled with these ratings. Pick your state and how many hours you run it, or see what portable units cost to run in every state.
Closest alternatives
Rating profiles with a similar CEER in the same size class, and what sets each one apart from the Airo comfort AC16MWS.
| Model | CEER | Compared with this one |
|---|---|---|
| Sea Breeze PADH314HPM | 8.9 | 0.5 CEER higher |
| 12,000 BTU dual-hose inverter portable AC, 11.2 CEER | 11.2 | 2.8 CEER higher, cooling only, inverter |
| Tripp Lite SRCOOL24KE | 9.8 | 1.4 CEER higher, 4,000 BTU more cooling, single-hose, cooling only |
| Hisense 6517277 | 12.0 | 3.6 CEER higher, gravity drain |
| Midea MAP12DV1XWT-A | 12.1 | 3.7 CEER higher, cooling only, inverter |
See all 14 12,000 BTU or more portable air conditioners, ranked
Before you buy
- SACC vs. the BTU on the box
- Portable vs. window air conditioner
- Portable AC without a window
- All portable air conditioners, ranked
- Window air conditioners
The Department of Energy lists every certified model, including some no longer sold: check availability before you buy. Source: U.S. Department of Energy, Compliance Certification Database (portable air conditioners), updated 2026-10-14. How we use the data.