6,400 BTU (SACC) single-hose portable air conditioner with heat
vevor OL-A016LF05N3
Average efficiency for its size: a CEER of 7.1 beats 69% of the certified 6,000 BTU portable air conditioners.
The vevor OL-A016LF05N3 delivers 6,400 BTU of real cooling (SACC), enough for about 150-250 sq ft, draws about 901 watts and costs about $122 a year to run at typical U.S. use and prices. A window unit that cools as much costs about $57 a year.
- CEER
- 7.1 Combined efficiency, higher is betterAverage · beats 69%
- Real cooling
- 6,400 BTU/h (SACC)For about 150-250 sq ft
- Energy use
- 676 kWh/yrAbout 901 W, at 750 hours a year
- Design
- One hose Uses room air for its condenser
A good fit if…
- You want one unit for cooling and some heat - it has a heating mode.
- You do not want to empty a bucket - it evaporates the water and sends it out through the hose in normal weather.
Think twice if…
- You want the most efficient design - one-hose units pull warm air in through gaps; dual-hose units lead the efficiency ranks.
Calculate my running costCheck the size for my room
Details
Certified ratings
| Performance | |
|---|---|
| Real cooling capacity (SACC)Seasonally adjusted cooling capacity: what the unit delivers in the DOE test, after the heat it lets back in | 6,400 BTU/h |
| CEERCombined energy efficiency ratio, includes standby power | 7.1 |
| Power drawSACC divided by CEER | About 901 W |
| Yearly energy use750 hours of cooling a year | 676 kWh |
| Design | |
| Hose design | Single-duct (one hose) |
| Heating | Yes (type not stated in the data) |
| Compressor | Not reported |
| Water removal | Self-evaporating (exhausts the water through the hose) |
| Certification | |
| Certified model numbers | 1 (1 basic model) |
| Brands | 1 |
| Size class | 6,000 BTU |
Model numbers with these ratings
These model numbers are certified with the same capacity, efficiency, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor as the vevor OL-A016LF05N3.They may be the same unit sold under several brands, or different products that test the same: the DOE data has no dimensions or noise figures, so check those with the maker. Ratings within about 2% in capacity and 0.3 in CEER are treated as the same; a model whose own rating differs a little shows it in brackets.
- vevorOL-A016LF05N3
How it compares with the other 6,000 BTU portable units
- CEER (class median 6.6)7.1, no ties
- Yearly cost vs. class median ($123)$1 less
- Efficiency rank among 11 rating profiles#4
- Models in the class with two hoses0%
- Window units with similar cooling (median CEER 15.1)$57 a year
Compared with every DOE-certified portable unit in the same size class (SACC). Each model number counts once. Yearly cost at 750 hours and 18.0¢/kWh.
Yearly running cost by city
This unit at each city's cooling hours and state electricity price, against a window unit that cools as much.
| City | Hours | ¢/kWh | Per year | Window unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix, AZ | 1675 | 15.5 | $234 | $110 |
| Houston, TX | 1400 | 16.0 | $202 | $95 |
| Miami, FL | 1750 | 15.4 | $243 | $114 |
| Atlanta, GA | 775 | 15.1 | $105 | $50 |
| New York, NY | 525 | 28.4 | $134 | $63 |
| Chicago, IL | 475 | 19.0 | $81 | $38 |
| Denver, CO | 350 | 16.6 | $52 | $25 |
| Seattle, WA | 125 | 14.2 | $16 | $8 |
Ranked around it in the 6,000 BTU class
| # | Model | BTU (SACC) | CEER | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | 6,450 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.4 CEER | 6,450 | 7.4 | $118 |
| 2 | BLACK+DECKER BPP06WTB | 6,000 | 7.3 | $111 |
| 3 | 6,250 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.2 CEER | 6,250 | 7.2 | $117 |
| 4 | vevor OL-A016LF05N3 | 6,400 | 7.1 | $122 |
| 5 | Whynter ARC-115WG | 6,800 | 6.9 | $133 |
| 6 | 6,500 BTU single-hose portable AC, 6.7 CEER | 6,500 | 6.7 | $131 |
| 7 | 6,300 BTU single-hose portable AC, 6.6 CEER | 6,300 | 6.6 | $129 |
Questions
- What size room does the vevor OL-A016LF05N3 cool?
- 6,400 BTU of real cooling (SACC) suits about 150 to 250 sq ft with normal sun and two people (about 135-225 sq ft if very sunny), by the ENERGY STAR floor-area table. Size by SACC, not the larger BTU on the box.
- How many watts does the vevor OL-A016LF05N3 use, and what does it cost to run?
- About 901 watts at full power (6,400 BTU/h divided by its CEER of 7.1), roughly 7.8 amps if it runs on 115 V. At 750 hours a year and 18.0¢/kWh that is about $122, which is $1 less than the typical certified 6,000 BTU portable unit ($123). Its CEER beats 69% of the 458 certified models in its size class.
- Is a one-hose portable air conditioner a problem?
- It is the common design: 100% of the certified 6,000 BTU models have one hose, with a median of 6.6 CEER. The top-ranked 6,450 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.4 CEER reaches 7.4 CEER.
- Do I have to empty the vevor OL-A016LF05N3?
- Usually not. It evaporates the water it removes and sends it out through the exhaust hose. In very humid weather the pan can still fill, and most units then stop and ask to be drained, so keep a drain hose or a bucket handy.
- How does the vevor OL-A016LF05N3 heat?
- It has a heating function, but the DOE data records only that it exists, not whether it is a heat pump or an electric element. Ask the maker: a heat pump gives more heat per kWh than a resistance element, which costs the same as any space heater. 18 of the 458 certified 6,000 BTU models can heat.
- Is the vevor OL-A016LF05N3 as efficient as a window air conditioner?
- No. The 9 ENERGY STAR certified window units that cool about as much (within 15% of 6,400 BTU) have a median CEER of 15.1, against 7.1 here, and the best reach 16.0. At 750 hours a year a window unit with that median would cost about $57, $65 less than this one. ENERGY STAR window units are the more efficient part of the window market, so the gap to an average window unit is smaller. A portable unit makes sense when a window unit will not fit or is not allowed.
Running cost calculator
Pre-filled with these ratings. Pick your state and how many hours you run it, or see what portable units cost to run in every state.
Closest alternatives
Rating profiles with a similar CEER in the same size class, and what sets each one apart from the vevor OL-A016LF05N3.
| Model | CEER | Compared with this one |
|---|---|---|
| 6,250 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.2 CEER | 7.2 | 0.1 CEER higher, 150 BTU less cooling, cooling only |
| Whynter ARC-115WG | 6.9 | 0.2 CEER lower, 400 BTU more cooling, cooling only |
| BLACK+DECKER BPP06WTB | 7.3 | 0.2 CEER higher, 400 BTU less cooling, cooling only |
| 6,500 BTU single-hose portable AC, 6.7 CEER | 6.7 | 0.4 CEER lower, 100 BTU more cooling, cooling only |
| 6,450 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.4 CEER | 7.4 | 0.3 CEER higher, 50 BTU more cooling, cooling only |
See all 11 6,000 BTU portable air conditioners, ranked
Before you buy
- SACC vs. the BTU on the box
- Portable vs. window air conditioner
- Portable AC without a window
- All portable air conditioners, ranked
- Window air conditioners
The Department of Energy lists every certified model, including some no longer sold: check availability before you buy. Source: U.S. Department of Energy, Compliance Certification Database (portable air conditioners), updated 2026-10-14. How we use the data.