10,300 BTU (SACC) single-hose portable air conditioner with heat
COSTWAY FP10772US-WH
Very good efficiency for its size: a CEER of 10.0 beats 76% of the certified 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners.
The COSTWAY FP10772US-WH delivers 10,300 BTU of real cooling (SACC), enough for about 350-450 sq ft, draws about 1030 watts and costs about $139 a year to run at typical U.S. use and prices. A window unit that cools as much costs about $93 a year.
- CEER
- 10.0 Combined efficiency, higher is betterVery good · beats 76%
- Real cooling
- 10,300 BTU/h (SACC)For about 350-450 sq ft
- Energy use
- 773 kWh/yrAbout 1030 W, at 750 hours a year
- Design
- One hose Uses room air for its condenser
A good fit if…
- You want low bills - its CEER beats 76% of the 706 certified 10,000 BTU portable models.
- You want one unit for cooling and some heat - it has a heating mode.
- You do not want to empty a bucket - it evaporates the water and sends it out through the hose in normal weather.
Think twice if…
- You want the most efficient design - one-hose units pull warm air in through gaps; dual-hose units lead the efficiency ranks.
Calculate my running costCheck the size for my room
Details
Certified ratings
| Performance | |
|---|---|
| Real cooling capacity (SACC)Seasonally adjusted cooling capacity: what the unit delivers in the DOE test, after the heat it lets back in | 10,300 BTU/h |
| CEERCombined energy efficiency ratio, includes standby power | 10.0 |
| Power drawSACC divided by CEER | About 1030 W |
| Yearly energy use750 hours of cooling a year | 773 kWh |
| Design | |
| Hose design | Single-duct (one hose) |
| Heating | Yes (type not stated in the data) |
| Compressor | Not reported |
| Water removal | Self-evaporating (exhausts the water through the hose) |
| Certification | |
| Certified model numbers | 2 (1 basic model) |
| Brands | 1 |
| Size class | 10,000 BTU |
Model numbers with these ratings
These model numbers are certified with the same capacity, efficiency, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor as the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH.They may be the same unit sold under several brands, or different products that test the same: the DOE data has no dimensions or noise figures, so check those with the maker. Ratings within about 2% in capacity and 0.3 in CEER are treated as the same; a model whose own rating differs a little shows it in brackets.
- COSTWAYFP10772US-WH, JHS-A026A-10KRH-D
How it compares with the other 10,000 BTU portable units
- CEER (class median 7.9)10.0, tied with 1 other profile
- Yearly cost vs. class median ($171)$32 less
- Efficiency rank among 34 rating profiles#17
- Models in the class with two hoses22%
- Window units with similar cooling (median CEER 15.0)$93 a year
Compared with every DOE-certified portable unit in the same size class (SACC). Each model number counts once. Yearly cost at 750 hours and 18.0¢/kWh.
Yearly running cost by city
This unit at each city's cooling hours and state electricity price, against a window unit that cools as much.
| City | Hours | ¢/kWh | Per year | Window unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix, AZ | 1675 | 15.5 | $267 | $178 |
| Houston, TX | 1400 | 16.0 | $231 | $154 |
| Miami, FL | 1750 | 15.4 | $278 | $185 |
| Atlanta, GA | 775 | 15.1 | $120 | $80 |
| New York, NY | 525 | 28.4 | $153 | $102 |
| Chicago, IL | 475 | 19.0 | $93 | $62 |
| Denver, CO | 350 | 16.6 | $60 | $40 |
| Seattle, WA | 125 | 14.2 | $18 | $12 |
Ranked around it in the 10,000 BTU class
| # | Model | BTU (SACC) | CEER | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 14 | Midea MAP10V1JWT | 10,000 | 12.0 | $113 |
| 15 | 10,000 BTU dual-hose inverter portable AC, 11.8 CEER | 10,000 | 11.8 | $115 |
| 16 | ACHIMCO PAC-A026A-10KRH | 10,300 | 10.0 | $139 |
| 17 | COSTWAY FP10772US-WH | 10,300 | 10.0 | $139 |
| 18 | Sea Breeze PADH312M | 10,000 | 8.9 | $152 |
| 19 | Power Breezer H750L | 9,000 | 8.4 | $145 |
| 20 | 10,800 BTU single-hose portable AC, 8.1 CEER | 10,800 | 8.1 | $180 |
Questions
- What size room does the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH cool?
- 10,300 BTU of real cooling (SACC) suits about 350 to 450 sq ft with normal sun and two people (about 315-405 sq ft if very sunny), by the ENERGY STAR floor-area table. Size by SACC, not the larger BTU on the box.
- How many watts does the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH use, and what does it cost to run?
- About 1030 watts at full power (10,300 BTU/h divided by its CEER of 10.0), roughly 9.0 amps if it runs on 115 V. At 750 hours a year and 18.0¢/kWh that is about $139, which is $32 less than the typical certified 10,000 BTU portable unit ($171). Its CEER beats 76% of the 706 certified models in its size class.
- Is a one-hose portable air conditioner a problem?
- It is the common design: 78% of the certified 10,000 BTU models have one hose, with a median of 7.9 CEER. The top-ranked Midea MAP12S1TBL has two hoses and 14.7 CEER.
- Do I have to empty the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH?
- Usually not. It evaporates the water it removes and sends it out through the exhaust hose. In very humid weather the pan can still fill, and most units then stop and ask to be drained, so keep a drain hose or a bucket handy.
- How does the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH heat?
- It has a heating function, but the DOE data records only that it exists, not whether it is a heat pump or an electric element. Ask the maker: a heat pump gives more heat per kWh than a resistance element, which costs the same as any space heater. 200 of the 706 certified 10,000 BTU models can heat.
- Is the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH as efficient as a window air conditioner?
- No. The 32 ENERGY STAR certified window units that cool about as much (within 15% of 10,300 BTU) have a median CEER of 15.0, against 10.0 here, and the best reach 17.6. At 750 hours a year a window unit with that median would cost about $93, $46 less than this one. ENERGY STAR window units are the more efficient part of the window market, so the gap to an average window unit is smaller. A portable unit makes sense when a window unit will not fit or is not allowed.
- Which model numbers have the same ratings as the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH?
- 2 certified model numbers from 1 brand share these ratings: capacity, CEER, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor. They may be the same unit under different brands, or different products that test the same; the DOE data does not include dimensions or noise, so check those with the maker. The full list is on this page.
Running cost calculator
Pre-filled with these ratings. Pick your state and how many hours you run it, or see what portable units cost to run in every state.
Closest alternatives
Rating profiles with a similar CEER in the same size class, and what sets each one apart from the COSTWAY FP10772US-WH.
| Model | CEER | Compared with this one |
|---|---|---|
| ACHIMCO PAC-A026A-10KRH | 10.0 | same CEER, inverter |
| Sea Breeze PADH312M | 8.9 | 1.1 CEER lower, 300 BTU less cooling, dual-hose, cooling only |
| 10,300 BTU dual-hose portable AC, 12.0 CEER | 12.0 | 2.0 CEER higher, dual-hose, cooling only |
| TCL T10PQ3SD | 12.0 | 2.0 CEER higher, dual-hose, cooling only, inverter |
| TCL W10PDH56 | 12.0 | 2.0 CEER higher, dual-hose, inverter |
See all 34 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners, ranked
Before you buy
- SACC vs. the BTU on the box
- Portable vs. window air conditioner
- Portable AC without a window
- All portable air conditioners, ranked
- Window air conditioners
The Department of Energy lists every certified model, including some no longer sold: check availability before you buy. Source: U.S. Department of Energy, Compliance Certification Database (portable air conditioners), updated 2026-10-14. How we use the data.