9,250 BTU (SACC) single-hose portable air conditioner with heat
Eaton SRCOOL12KE
Below average efficiency for its size: a CEER of 7.6 beats 0% of the certified 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners.
The Eaton SRCOOL12KE delivers 9,250 BTU of real cooling (SACC), enough for about 300-400 sq ft, draws about 1217 watts and costs about $165 a year to run at typical U.S. use and prices. A window unit that cools as much costs about $83 a year.
- CEER
- 7.6 Combined efficiency, higher is betterBelow average · beats 0%
- Real cooling
- 9,250 BTU/h (SACC)For about 300-400 sq ft
- Energy use
- 913 kWh/yrAbout 1217 W, at 750 hours a year
- Design
- One hose Uses room air for its condenser
A good fit if…
- You want one unit for cooling and some heat - it has a heating mode.
Think twice if…
- Running cost matters most - its CEER is below average for 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners.
- You want the most efficient design - one-hose units pull warm air in through gaps; dual-hose units lead the efficiency ranks.
- You want no drain to deal with - it uses a condensate pump you must route to a drain or sink.
Calculate my running costCheck the size for my room
Details
Certified ratings
| Performance | |
|---|---|
| Real cooling capacity (SACC)Seasonally adjusted cooling capacity: what the unit delivers in the DOE test, after the heat it lets back in | 9,250 BTU/h |
| CEERCombined energy efficiency ratio, includes standby power | 7.6 |
| Power drawSACC divided by CEER | About 1217 W |
| Yearly energy use750 hours of cooling a year | 913 kWh |
| Design | |
| Hose design | Single-duct (one hose) |
| Heating | Yes (type not stated in the data) |
| Compressor | Not reported |
| Water removal | Built-in condensate pump |
| Certification | |
| Certified model numbers | 4 (2 basic models) |
| Brands | 2 |
| Size class | 10,000 BTU |
Model numbers with these ratings
These model numbers are certified with the same capacity, efficiency, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor as the Eaton SRCOOL12KE.They may be the same unit sold under several brands, or different products that test the same: the DOE data has no dimensions or noise figures, so check those with the maker. Ratings within about 2% in capacity and 0.3 in CEER are treated as the same; a model whose own rating differs a little shows it in brackets.
- EatonSRCOOL12KE, SRCOOL12KWTE
- Tripp LiteSRCOOL12KE, SRCOOL12KWTE
How it compares with the other 10,000 BTU portable units
- CEER (class median 7.9)7.6, tied with 2 other profiles
- Yearly cost vs. class median ($171)$7 less
- Efficiency rank among 34 rating profiles#33
- Models in the class with two hoses22%
- Window units with similar cooling (median CEER 15.0)$83 a year
Compared with every DOE-certified portable unit in the same size class (SACC). Each model number counts once. Yearly cost at 750 hours and 18.0¢/kWh.
Yearly running cost by city
This unit at each city's cooling hours and state electricity price, against a window unit that cools as much.
| City | Hours | ¢/kWh | Per year | Window unit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Phoenix, AZ | 1675 | 15.5 | $315 | $160 |
| Houston, TX | 1400 | 16.0 | $273 | $138 |
| Miami, FL | 1750 | 15.4 | $328 | $166 |
| Atlanta, GA | 775 | 15.1 | $142 | $72 |
| New York, NY | 525 | 28.4 | $181 | $92 |
| Chicago, IL | 475 | 19.0 | $110 | $56 |
| Denver, CO | 350 | 16.6 | $71 | $36 |
| Seattle, WA | 125 | 14.2 | $22 | $11 |
Ranked around it in the 10,000 BTU class
| # | Model | BTU (SACC) | CEER | Per year |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 | Whynter ARC-147WF | 10,000 | 7.8 | $173 |
| 31 | Whynter ARC-14SH | 9,200 | 7.8 | $160 |
| 32 | 9,250 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.6 CEER | 9,250 | 7.6 | $165 |
| 33 | Eaton SRCOOL12KE | 9,250 | 7.6 | $165 |
| 34 | icyberboom RHKT14030 | 9,200 | 7.6 | $164 |
Questions
- What size room does the Eaton SRCOOL12KE cool?
- 9,250 BTU of real cooling (SACC) suits about 300 to 400 sq ft with normal sun and two people (about 270-360 sq ft if very sunny), by the ENERGY STAR floor-area table. Size by SACC, not the larger BTU on the box.
- How many watts does the Eaton SRCOOL12KE use, and what does it cost to run?
- About 1217 watts at full power (9,250 BTU/h divided by its CEER of 7.6), roughly 10.6 amps if it runs on 115 V. At 750 hours a year and 18.0¢/kWh that is about $165, which is $7 less than the typical certified 10,000 BTU portable unit ($171). Its CEER beats 0% of the 706 certified models in its size class.
- Is a one-hose portable air conditioner a problem?
- It is the common design: 78% of the certified 10,000 BTU models have one hose, with a median of 7.9 CEER. The top-ranked Midea MAP12S1TBL has two hoses and 14.7 CEER.
- How does the Eaton SRCOOL12KE handle the water it removes?
- It has a built-in condensate pump that pushes the water through a thin hose, so it can drain to a sink or a window ledge above floor level.
- How does the Eaton SRCOOL12KE heat?
- It has a heating function, but the DOE data records only that it exists, not whether it is a heat pump or an electric element. Ask the maker: a heat pump gives more heat per kWh than a resistance element, which costs the same as any space heater. 200 of the 706 certified 10,000 BTU models can heat.
- Is the Eaton SRCOOL12KE as efficient as a window air conditioner?
- No. The 55 ENERGY STAR certified window units that cool about as much (within 15% of 9,250 BTU) have a median CEER of 15.0, against 7.6 here, and the best reach 17.6. At 750 hours a year a window unit with that median would cost about $83, $81 less than this one. ENERGY STAR window units are the more efficient part of the window market, so the gap to an average window unit is smaller. A portable unit makes sense when a window unit will not fit or is not allowed.
- Which model numbers have the same ratings as the Eaton SRCOOL12KE?
- 4 certified model numbers from 2 brands share these ratings: capacity, CEER, hose design, heating, drain type and compressor. They may be the same unit under different brands, or different products that test the same; the DOE data does not include dimensions or noise, so check those with the maker. The full list is on this page.
Running cost calculator
Pre-filled with these ratings. Pick your state and how many hours you run it, or see what portable units cost to run in every state.
Closest alternatives
Rating profiles with a similar CEER in the same size class, and what sets each one apart from the Eaton SRCOOL12KE.
| Model | CEER | Compared with this one |
|---|---|---|
| 9,250 BTU single-hose portable AC, 7.6 CEER | 7.6 | same CEER, cooling only, self-evaporating |
| icyberboom RHKT14030 | 7.6 | same CEER, 50 BTU less cooling, self-evaporating |
| Whynter ARC-14SH | 7.8 | 0.2 CEER higher, 50 BTU less cooling, dual-hose, self-evaporating |
| Whynter ARC-14S | 7.9 | 0.3 CEER higher, 250 BTU more cooling, dual-hose, cooling only, self-evaporating |
| ACEKOOL PAC-M01 | 8.0 | 0.4 CEER higher, 50 BTU more cooling, cooling only, self-evaporating |
See all 34 10,000 BTU portable air conditioners, ranked
Before you buy
- SACC vs. the BTU on the box
- Portable vs. window air conditioner
- Portable AC without a window
- All portable air conditioners, ranked
- Window air conditioners
The Department of Energy lists every certified model, including some no longer sold: check availability before you buy. Source: U.S. Department of Energy, Compliance Certification Database (portable air conditioners), updated 2026-10-14. How we use the data.